See Rock City

See Rock City

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Milton, Georgia

Milton High School Motto: "Named best quality of life in Georgia"

Milton is a city in Fulton County, Georgia, United States. Incorporated on December 1, 2006, it was created out of the entire unincorporated northwestern part of northern Fulton County. It is a highly affluent community with an average household income within the zip code 30004 of $99,412.

According to the 2010 Census, Milton's population is 32,661.

Milton was not named for any of its historic communities, but rather because northern Fulton County (generally north of the Chattahoochee River) is almost entirely the former Milton County, which was in turn named for either John Milton or Homer V. Milton.


A citizen's committee was formed in 2005 to help determine the viability of incorporating unincorporated northwest Fulton County. After debate, the Georgia State House and Senate approved a bill creating the city of Milton on March 9, 2006. On Wednesday, March 28, 2006, Governor Sonny Perdue signed the bill into law. In July 2006, voters approved a ballot referendum on July 18 by more than 86%.

On August 4, 2006, Governor Sonny Perdue appointed a five-person commission to serve as the interim government of Milton.

Milton adopted the existing county ordinances on December 1.

Milton, Georgia is located in Metro Atlanta
Milton, Georgia
Location of Milton in Metro Atlanta


It is bounded by the cities of Roswell and Alpharetta on the south, and the counties of Forsyth on the east and Cherokee on the north and west. Former communities within Milton's city limits include Birmingham, Field's Cross Roads, and Crabapple. The Arnold Mill is also located on Georgia State Route 140 (Arnold Mill Road).

As of April 2007, the USPS (per recognizes Milton as a valid alias for ZIP code 30004, which is served from the Alpharetta post office.

The city of Milton estimates its area to be about 23,000 acres (93 km²).

External links

Source: Internet